The amazing pathos of human drama deeply entrenched within my bowels


I have nothing really important to say, nothing personally significant to share in a melodramatic way, nor anything that is not boring to a casual audience.  So, this will be a fictional post, a post of babbling nonesence, if you will.  No, I take all of that back. 

Have you ever wondered why common, white paper has the dimensions 8 x 11 inches?  Why don’t they make paper, nowadays, to conform to the 11 x 8, more or less, standards of a laptop screen?  Why don’t they make a laptop screen more like the 8 x 11 dimension of paper?  I imagine that’d be sort of difficult to engineer since the keyboard isn’t meant to be in that shape, and it’d result in one ugly laptop.  Imagine typing with one hand placed on top and above the other hand.  Very awkward.  Everytime I’m trying to read a pdf on my laptop, I’m always wishing it were more like paper, so that I don’t have to scan across the screen so far per line, without compromising the font size.  On the other hand, if I had a stack of 11 x 8 papers in my hands, I imagine the papers wouldn’t stand up so well when I’m flipping through them, with my hands held parallel before me. 

And you know what else bothers me?  Oh, rain the commiseration down upon me!  Yes, I am greatly irked by poor middle management, even though I have yet to work one day in my life.  The biggest complaint everywhere is that the managers don’t have any idea what it’s like to be a technical knowledge worker, so they impose ridiculous schedules and deadlines.  One side of the story is that the nerds don’t understand that they aren’t developing technology because it’s cool but because they’re satisfying customers, with the manager the customers’s representative, and the other side is that–well–managers still have no idea what they’re doing.  The clueless manager stereotype leads me to wonder why in the world would we elect these people into their positions?  Why aren’t the whiny nerds taking a stand and filling these positions for the good of geek-kind?  It’s ironic that, in college, the engineering majors are looking down at the other majors, but in the work place those other majors turn around and manage the engineers.  On a larger scale, the looked down majors turn around and become our senators, politicians, and leaders.  Why are the most influential roles given to these people?  It really should be the other way around.  Although, if that were true, and the unqualified people were becoming engineers, this world would be filled with horrendous technological disasters, as opposed to social disasters, crime, and corruption.  Instead, cell phones would be exploding by the minute, bridges and buildings would be collapsing, and planes would be falling out of the sky, if we even get this far ahead in technology altogether.  So better than having things the other way around, anyone given an influential role should be certified, maybe more effectively than it is now, the same way a doctor, lawyer, and engineer would be.  I wonder why this isn’t so.  Or, it might be even better to sacrifice exponential technological growth for civics done right.

Leave a Reply

Greatest hits

  • 1,153 hits
